Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Come on Irene! I swear on me knees at the moment…… August 28, 2011

Filed under: HOME — Sharon @ 5:32 pm

I thought Irene was going to be a fun-filled day of scrabble by candlelight and napping between eating non perishable foods but instead I got called into work.  Ya, I know.  That Sucks!

I just got home to find Ron and Penny napping without me.  Jerks.

I did tell him not to drink all the rum because I wanted to have a few Dark & Stormy drinks waiting for me!!

A simple highball-style cocktail, the Dark and Stormy is made with one part dark rum to four parts ginger beer. The smooth, rich warmth of the rum pairs beautifully with the spicy-sweet snap of the ginger beer, and everything takes on a refreshing chill when topped up with ice.

If you want a truly authentic taste, use Gosling’s Black Seal rum and Barritts ginger beer. Both brands are local to Bermuda and purists swear by them. (In fact, many will say that a drink made any other way is not a Dark and Stormy.) But authentic or not, any good-quality dark rum and any spicy, zippy ginger beer will make for a very tasty drink.

Dark and Stormy
makes one cocktail

2 ounces dark rum
8 ounces ginger beer

Combine rum and ginger beer in a highball glass and stir gently. Add ice cubes and garnish with a lime wedge. http://www.thekitchn.com/

I kinda feel a little let down with this storm.  We had no power outage, no evacuation, a few tree limbs down but that is about it.  Now I know some people have had property damage and yes I do feel bad for them, I am not an asshole but I would have liked a little more out of Irene. 

My Newport friends have been posting pictures of the water and it makes me home sick…….you all suck.  Thanks. 

Now back to TV and a snoring husband, enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

