Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Downward Dog August 6, 2011

Filed under: HOME — Sharon @ 11:03 am

I usually do Yoga in the middle of the living room and whenever I roll out the mat  Penny likes to give me a little lesson on  her favorite posses!

 Supta Baddha Konasana– Perform Baddha Konasana. Exhale and lower your back torso toward the floor, first leaning on your hands. Once you are leaning back on your forearms, use your hands to spread the back of your pelvis and release your lower back and upper buttocks through your tailbone. Bring your torso all the way to the floor, supporting your head and neck on a blanket roll or bolster if needed.

Child’s Pose– Kneel on the floor. Touch your big toes together and sit on your heels, then separate your knees about as wide as your hips.

Corpse Pose– In Savasana it’s essential that the body be placed in a neutral position. Sit on the floor with your knees bent, feet on the floor, and lean back onto your forearms. Lift your pelvis slightly off the floor and, with your hands, push the back of the pelvis toward the tailbone, then return the pelvis to the floor. Inhale and slowly extend the right leg, then the left, pushing through the heels. Release both legs, softening the groins, and see that the legs are angled evenly relative to the mid-line of the torso, and that the feet turn out equally. Narrow the front pelvis and soften (but don’t flatten) the lower back.

Supta Padangusthasana– Lie supine on the floor, legs strongly extended. If your head doesn’t rest comfortably on the floor, support it on a folded blanket. Exhale, bend the left knee, and draw the thigh into your torso. Hug the thigh to your belly. Press the front of the right thigh heavily to the floor, and push actively through the right heel.

Thanks Penny!!  Your sooooo ZEN!!

In other stuff,

anyone that knows me knows I have a LOVE for Iced Coffee.  I usually am not seen without one.  This year I switched from my favorite Dunks to the HoneyDew Mocha Madness!!  DELICIOUSNESS!

If I drink 1 per day $2.50 X 365 = $912.50 A YEAR!! Holy Cow.   So I decided to try a little something different this week and see how it works out.

I brewed some coffee and put it in the fridge and then I picked up some skim milk and a Muscle Milk chocolate Protein Shake.

I get the mocha flavor I like plus a little  added bonus of protein to start my metabolism off and running in the AM.     I found this reusable plastic cup at Target and it is the PERFECT size.

 Coffee + Mocha + Protein = Saving Money!!

🙂 One Very Happy Caffeinated Girl!

 

One Response to “Downward Dog”

  1. Dave has started doing the same thing. We bought a big glass container to put the coffee in the fridge overnight and dave has been putting sugarfree chocolate syrup and milk in his. Funny. I will share the muscle milk thing hes forever talking about protein.


Leave a Reply

