Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Falafel FAIL! July 13, 2011

Filed under: HOME,Recipe — Sharon @ 2:04 pm

OK, stepping out of my comfort zone here and trying to make a falafel-  crazy I know.   I bought these falafels so I am not making them from scratch. (1st mistake, but the box promised they were “new and Improved” )

I did however make the sauce.

Piquillo Pepper Yogurt Sauce:

  • 2 cups thick Greek yogurt
  • 3 piquillo or 2 roasted red peppers
  • 1 teaspoon smoked sweet Spanish paprika
  • 4 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth; season with salt and pepper to taste and transfer to a small bowl. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes, covered, to allow the flavors to meld.

Variation: Substitute 2 cups feta cheese for the yogurt, and add 1/2 cup finely chopped parsley.

– Adapted from Bobby Flay recipe


The Sauce tasted ok.  Not great.

I followed the directions on the side of the packaged and baked the falafel balls in the oven.


I used some pita pockets with lettuce, feta and cucumbers.

When I put the whole thing together it looked awesome……..and then I took a bite!  Gross.

The balls are dry and not crispy on the outside.  They were BAD!  I had to dip each one into the sauce to be able to choke them down.  Ron didn’t even try one.  Oh well ~Win Some, Lose Some!

 

Leave a Reply

