Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Just for the Halibut June 22, 2011

Filed under: Food,HOME,Recipe — Sharon @ 1:54 pm

“Why?  I don’t know why! Just for the Halibut”  Hahaaa I crack myself up!

Tonight I am attempting to make Halibut.  It is Ron’s favorite fish and I am doing it the way my dad used to make fish, or what I remember of him making it anyway.  But I don’t have a grill so I am making it in the oven.

We have a fish place right down the street from us and it is right next to the produce place so I went to get all the ingredients in one stop.

The fish looked good and didn’t smell(also a good sign)  but Ron informed me “it wasn’t halibut”  ~ What?  I got ripped off by the fish dude?  Not Cool.


 I put down some foil and then got a few things together.

I chopped up the produce and put a little salt & pepper on the fish.

then I started to layer it right on the fish

Ron stepped in to make the packets but basically you just take the two sides and meet and fold down in the middle and then fold the ends up,  I could have done it but there are a some things you can’t do while you take pictures at the same time.

The side dish was a simple garlic and sauteed spinach.

The fish came out steamy

Baked Halibut in Foil Packets
serves two

2 halibut filets, one-inch thick
1 small to medium ripe tomato
1 quarter of a red onion, sliced
1/2 lemon
salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Lay out two sheets of heavy-duty aluminum foil, each about 12-14 inches long.  Lay one piece of halibut on each. Season generously with salt and pepper.

Divide the tomato  and onion slices between the two pieces of fish, laying them on top. Squeeze a wedge of lemon over each, and add the lemon to the pile. Sprinkle another pinch of salt and pepper over each.  A little olive oil on each.

Fold up the edges of the foil to create a closed packet and bake, on a baking sheet, for about 20 minutes, just until the fish is opaque. Serve immediately, in the packets.

 

Leave a Reply

