Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Heart Rate Program 12 Weeks June 17, 2011

Filed under: HOME — Sharon @ 5:59 pm

So I got a heart rate program that I am supposed to follow from the owner of the gym that my trainer is at.  I am ready to start the new adventure so I went out and go a couple new toys.

First the program:

It alternates fat burning days with Interval days and was customized for me from my fitness level, height, weight, age and resting heart rate.       It also comes with some instructional video.  The week one  is all the same heart rate of 130 everyday.  I wanted to go to the park and do some if it outdoors over the summer so I went out and got a fancy handy dandy heart rate watch.

I wanted to give it a try outside so I also picked up some new earphones to go with my Ipod.  I have the regualr ones and they always fall out of my ears when I run.

 Ok….ready to go!

Music~ Check

Heart Rate monitor- Check

Shoes that tell me the distance I went- Check

Alarm goes off at 8:00am  and it is raining!  WTF! ~My life.

Ohhhhhh well, so I went and got on the treadmill and watched Regis and Kelly instead.

I have never done a workout that was based on my heart rate.  It is a little confusing.  You are supposed to stay within +or – (5)  of the number on the training schedule.  Today I was to train at 130.  I started off walking on the treadmill at 3.5 MPH and about 10 minutes in I was still not at the target heart rate.  So I upped it from there and kept going up to 3.8 and then I stayed at about 127 for a little while and then finally I stopped checking and kept at that pace for 40 minutes or so.  I checked a again and I was 142.  I took the speed down a little but my heart rate come down some too.  I am kinda confused about how I  keep the range within 5.

It was a good hour workout and I walked 3.5 miles and got good and sweaty.  I can’t wait to take my toys to the park, rain rain go away I want to go play!

 

One Response to “Heart Rate Program 12 Weeks”

  1. Katie Says:

    wow, that is going to be hard I can never stay in my target heart rate.


Leave a Reply

