Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Baby Shower Cupcakes! April 13, 2011

Filed under: Food,HELLO CUPCAKE CHALLENGE,HOME,Recipe — Sharon @ 12:25 pm

I made these cupcakes for Beth’s Baby Shower.  They are supposed to be little babies in a shower….get it.  BABY SHOWER!

You need A TON of frosting for this….and some food coloring skillz (which I do not have)  You also need Vanilla Wafers and some sprinkles.

I started by making a really light pink frosting and microwave for a few seconds  then dunk both sides of the wafer in the frosting. Set on a rack to catch the dripping frosting.

Then once you have covered about 20 or 25 (make a few extra for screw ups) you can start on making the faces.  To get the nose you need chocolate covered sunflower seeds.  I found them at Micheals.

And then some dark chocolate for the eyes and hair.  I decided to make a few redhead, blondes and brunette.    Because we knew that she is having a girl I added some little flowers in their hair.

The problem with these is that you need to keep changing the colors to make the mouth the hair and the eyes so I used a few disposable piping bags and just cut of a small tip  at the end since I only have one real tip.

Once I made all the heads I started to frost the mini cupcakes and coated the sides in blue sprinkles leaving the tops plain to stick the cookie on.

Because they are supposed to look like babies in a shower I used a silver cupcake liner to create a shower head and some easter grass on the bottom.

I think they came out cute.  Everyone at the party seemed to enjoy there little faces and the different expressions.  I did taste them and they tasted as good as they looked.



 

One Response to “Baby Shower Cupcakes!”

  1. Lynne Says:

    I rop a leavbe a response esch time I like a argicle onn
    a wehsite or if I have somethhing to contriibute to the conversation. Usually it’s triggered bby thhe passkon displayed in thee artile I
    browsed. Annd after thks artidle Baaby Shower Cupcakes!
    | Sharon’s Shenanigans. I was actually excited enoigh to drp a thought 🙂 I atually do have some questions ffor you
    iff youu tend nott to mind. Could it be only mee oor do a ffew of thesae remarks comme
    acdoss aas iff they are comiing from brtain deqd people?
    😛 And, if yoou arre writying on other onlkine social sites, I’d like tto keep upp wigh everythihg frexh you hace to post.

    Could yoou lisat the complete urls oof alll your communal sires like your
    linkedin profile, Facebook paage or twittter feed?


Leave a Reply

