Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Gone Bananas! Homemade Dog Treats March 1, 2011

Filed under: Cards,Crafts,HOME,Recipe — Sharon @ 12:10 pm

The Deep End.    Have I gone off it yet?  Yup.  My real question is why have I not thought of this sooner?  I was looking around for some recipes on what to do with bananas that are past their prime.  I heard you can throw them in the freezer and they will keep until you make some banana bread but I can’t have a loaf of banana bread in my fridge every week.  I like it but not enough to keep up with the amount of bananas that I throw away weekly.  So I found this little GEM of a recipe and thought it was a perfect solution.  This is really a summer recipe but since I had bad bananas and one willing food critic I thought I would give it a go!

The Food Critic~  PENNY PENCE

Banana & Peanut Butter Frozen Yogurt for Dogs
Ingredients:
-12 ounces fat free plain yogurt
-2 heaping tablespoons peanut butter
-1 medium banana

In a blender or food processor puree together all ingredients. Distribute evenly in a 6-cup silicone muffin pan (or alternatively a standard metal muffin pan in which the cups have been lined with plastic wrap for easy removal). Freeze for 6-8 hours until firm and transfer to a freezer-safe storage bag or container.

I always have some peanut butter and banana around because I have it on my english muffins or toast as few days a week.  It is my go to breakfast.  I bought a little plain yogurt because last time I tried to give Penny Greek Yogurt she wouldn’t eat it.  (yes, I know she is picky)  I have been buying this peanut butter by Teddie.  Check out the ingredients.  Just Peanuts.

So throw it all together in a blender and let it ride. 

 

 I used the suggestion of lining the metal cupcake pans with plastic can it worked really well.  These would be really cute if you had a bone shaped pan or  chocolate mold to use.    I will have to remember to keep an eye out for one.

Popped those into the freezer and it only took about 4 hours to freeze and then they came right out of the tin by pulling the plastic wrap up.

Penny was anxiously waiting as soon as she saw me pick up her bowl.     Yes , my dog has an engraved set of bowls.  Doesn’t everyone’s?

I set it on the floor by the window and she LOVED it! 

She finished off the treat and then licked the bowl clean.

And then I decided that these would make really fun birthday gifts for dogs.  I had made a card yesterday and decided to make a matching tag for the top of the Ziploc bag.  This  is what I came up with.  How freaking cute are these?  Anyone have a doggie birthday party coming up? 

 

OMG!~I LOVE IT! ~ TOO CUTE~ 

FYI:

http://www.dogtreatkitchen.com/gourmet-dog-treats.htmlI

Common Dog Treat Ingredients that Should Be Avoided:

  • Baby Food  (may have onion or onion powder)
  • Chocolate  
  • Onions
  • Macadamia Nuts and Walnuts  
  • Green parts of Potato  
  • Raisins and Grapes  
  • Salt  
  • Sugar and Sweeteners
  • Caffeine
  • Cinnamon
 

Leave a Reply

