Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

My Funny Valentine February 15, 2011

Filed under: Food,HOME — Sharon @ 3:15 pm

How was everyone’s Valentines Day?  Mine was amazing.  , I had some delicious food made by my  Chef Husband and myself.  We had some good food, good wine, and some Wii Pictionary fun and laughs.  

I was in charge of cooking breakfast so I chose to do Valentine Bird’s Nest and stuffed strawberries and pineapple.      I know I am such a gourmet(ya right), I used a heart-shaped cookie cutter to cut the center out of the bread and sliced the strawberries in an X shape and filled them with whipcream.  Clever right?  I thought so.  So as you can see it would be hard for Ron to top that dish!  I went off to work out and get my nails and toes done while he went to go grocery shopping to “thow a little something together for dinner”.     He also picked me up some beautiful tulips because he knows I  like them much better than roses.

 I came home from getting pampered with my toes and fingers all a glow  to find the house filled with wonderful smells. Penny was  helping out in the kitchen as the Sous Chef.  She has an important roll of cleaning the floor as Ron works away.

   The first course was a Amuse Bouche– WIKIPEDIA DEFINES:  An amuse-bouche [amyzbuʃ] or amuse-gueule [amyzɡœl] is a single, bite-sized hors d’œuvre.[1] Amuse-bouche are different from appetizers in that they are not ordered from a menu by patrons, but, when served, are done so according to the chef’s selection alone. These, often accompanied by a complementing wine, are served as an excitement of taste buds both to prepare the guest for the meal and to offer a glimpse into the chef’s approach to cooking.

My handsome Chef’s  Amuse Bouche of Seared Sea Scallops in a lemon shrimp butter topped with lemon zest and chive batons!   

The next course was Steamed Littleneck Clams with spicy turkey sausage, garlic, shrimp and champagne sauce served with some crusty bread.

   And then came the salad course.  Shaved fennel and Goat Cheese Stuffed Belgian Endive with a Roasted Red Pepper vinaigrette topped with fried shallots over baby spinach and arugula salad.  (WOW, that is a mouth full and it tasted just as good as it sounds)

The first few courses were served with a Cupcake Pinot Nior,  I am really enjoying those reds now.  The Atlanta Wine Guy Blog said:   “Don’t expect a lot of complexity, but do enjoy the bright red cherry fruit flavors with moderate amounts of spice in the medium length finish. The acidity is enough to keep your palate cleansed and your mouth-watering for the next sip.”  Whatever the heck that means I think it tasted good.  Hahaaaa.  

 The next course was the MAIN EVENT!  Garlic and Herb Encrusted Rack of Lamb served over zucchini Asiago gratin with whipped sweet potatoes.  I know he got the lamb at Trader Joes and it was an amazing piece of meat.  He cooked it perfectly.  I haven’t had lamb in a long time and it was wonderful.  I was so full I even gave Penny one of my chops.  She was a very happy valentine dog.  

    

Ok so far this might be a little better than my breakfast.  We paired the main dish and salad course with a Red Zinfandel by Woodbridge. 

   

After the Main dish is was time for a long walk with the dog to take a break and peel ourselves away from the table.  We played a little Wii Pictionary.     And then it was time for the dessert and cocktail portion.  I made the cocktail and it was a Strawberry Valentine with Strawberry Stoli and cran~razberry juice topped with champagne.  YUMMMMMMM.

  It paired really well with the Berries Napoleon, layers of puff pastry with Grand Marnier whip cream with fresh strawberries and rasberries.

It was light and fluffy but we were still so full so we split one and washed it down with a sweet cocktail. 

The other day I had a friend ask me “With all the working out you have been doing why aren’t you like a 105 pounds?”  Well I guess the answer is “I Married REALLY well”~  Hhahaaaa. 

Happy Valentines Day to My Husband who’s culinary skills are only matched by his ability to make me laugh everyday!  

 

3 Responses to “My Funny Valentine”

  1. Shannon Says:

    OMG! This is amazing! You are one lucky girl!

  2. Leslie Says:

    I am starting to think that I should have married a chef. Yummmmm.


Leave a Reply

