Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Summer Dreaming February 13, 2011

Filed under: Cards,Crafts,Food,HOME,Recipe — Sharon @ 4:44 pm

 

So two things I did this week made me REALLY ready for some summer fun.    The short cold days are really starting to be a drag.   

This might be my favorite card I have ever made.  The theme,the color and the flip- flops.  You can’t tell from the photo but the flip-flops in the middle is card board and raised up from the background.   LOVE!  I based this of sketch for OWH #5.  This card makes me think of my Aunt Kerry and she might end up getting one for her birthday!  (Which isn’t until June so I guess I ruined the surprise!)     

The Sketch #5~

 The Card~  

The other thing I had this week was a summer salad!    I stole this idea from Panera Bread and I make a few different variations of it but what inspired me to try it this week was when I bought this salad dressing by Marzetti. 

The salad had romaine lettuce, grilled chicken, 1 chopped hard boiled egg, strawberries and blueberries w/ a few garlic croutons.  I usually make it with spinach for the greens but romaine happened to be what I had on hand.    I have also in the past made it with mandarin oranges, pineapple chunks, alvacado, bacon, goat cheese or feta cheese and had it with a Poppyseed Dressing from Old Cape Cod. AMAZING!!!  

 OHHH SUMMER!  How I long for some fun in the sun.  Until then I guess I can keep making sunny cards and eating sunny summer salads!   What are you doing to beat the winter blues? 

 

Leave a Reply

