Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Getting Ready for Superbowl (Test Run Recipe) February 4, 2011

Filed under: Food,HOME,Recipe — Sharon @ 12:51 pm

I found this Recipe on Gina’s and decided to try it out before the big game.  I had the perfect taste testers to try it on when Beth and Chris came over last week.  Chris will eat anything and ALOT of it too.  

SKINNY JALAPENO POPPERS!

 

The recipe is a pretty simple one.  

 

Low-Fat Baked Jalapeño Poppers
Gina’s Weight Watcher Recipes
Servings: makes 24 • Size: 2 poppers • Old Points: 1 pts • Points+: 2 pts
Calories: 61.6 • Fat: 2.7 g • Protein: 4.2 g • Carb: 5.3 g • Fiber: 0.7 g  
 

  • 12 jalapeño peppers, sliced in half lengthwise
  • 4.5 oz light cream cheese
  • 5 medium scallions, green part only, sliced
  • 2 oz shredded low fat sharp cheddar (I used Cabot 50%)
  • 1/2 cup egg beaters or egg whites, beaten
  • 1/2 cup panko crumbs*
  • 1/8 tsp paprika
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp chili powder
  • salt and fresh pepper
  • spray oil

 Preheat oven to 350°. Wearing rubber gloves, cut peppers in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds and membrane.
Combine cream cheese, cheddar and scallions in a medium bowl.Combine panko, paprika, chili powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper in another bowl.
Fill peppers with cheese filling with a small spoon or spatula.Dip peppers in egg beaters.Place pepper in panko mixture, using a spoon to make sure all the seasoning doesn’t fall to the bottom of the bowl.Spray a baking pan with oil spray. I lined my pan with parchment for easier cleanup. Lightly spray the peppers with a little more oil spray.Bake in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, until golden and cheese oozes out.

I didn’t wear rubber gloves but I made sure not to touch my face or eyes while working with the peppers. 
I then added all the good stuff in a bowl.  I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and 2% milk Sharp Cheddar and diced scallions.

Once that was all mashed up I added the dry ingredients.  I forgot the salt and pepper.  


I stuffed all the jalapenos adn this recipe makes right amount of stuffing  for 24 poppers.  I decided to go for the full 2 eggs instead of using egg white and I didn’t have any egg beaters.  I dont’ think with an egg wash that it really matters that much or changes the points drastically but I also didn’t figure it out.

Just dip the little poppers into the egg wash and then cover them in the bread crumbs.

I actually forgot to spray them with the Pam before I cooked them.    I think that might have helped to keep the Panko together a little more.  I will remember that for Sunday.

They came out crunchy and gooey and D-E-L-I-C-O-U-S!  Beth said that she couldn’t tell they were supposed to be low fat, which is always a compliment in skinny cooking.

I am going to make these for the big game.  Who care who wins as long as there is good friend and good food.  (and maybe some gambling) 

 

Leave a Reply

