Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

2011 Calander = 12 months of Cupcakes ~January January 31, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Food,HELLO CUPCAKE CHALLENGE,HOME,Recipe — Sharon @ 11:51 pm

I bought this calender  and I loved the cute cupcakes on it but as stated in my previous cookie post I am not really a baker.  Well, get ready 2011 cause you are now the “Year of the Cupcake”. 

The January cupcake is a polar bear.    I took this picture of the 1st page.  The Calender is based on a book from Karen Track & Alan Richardson. You can visit their website at www.hellocupcakebook.com

The problem with this calender is that they don’t give you any instruction but just point out what each part is made of.   I have not been to the website yet but I bet it gives instructions. (That might be useful in the future.)

The list for this included

  • mini M &M’s
  •  Cheerios
  •  donut hole
  •  spice drops
  •  coconut
  •  chocolate frosting. 

I decided to take on this challenge 2 days ago and I didn’t even own a cupcake or muffin pan.  So I went out and picked up my supplies.

I followed the instructions on the back of the box for the cupcakes.   Add Oil, Water, Egg and mix with mixer.  (again wishing I had a kitchen aid) 

I threw the cupcakes in the oven and then I started on the little heads. 

 I tried to frost the head and then realized that was not going to work.  I put some frosting in the microwave for 30 seconds and dipped them.  They took 3 separate dunks.  I am glad I didn’t get the powder sugar ones because the frosting would not have stuck. 

 FAIL!

 

 

Then while the heads are chilling between dunks I started on the nose.  Mini M & M + chocolate frosting+ Gum Drop= Polar Bear Nose.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I started on the feet (paws)

 

 

I got a little worried when I checked on the cupcakes because I thought I over filled them and was ready for a disaster but they came out ok.

Now is was time to put the pieces together.  First I made the heads.

Then I frosted the cupcakes and covered them in coconut.  I had to run the coconut through the food processor to make it a little finer.

 

 

 

 

 

This was the first little guy!  How cute is he.  I want to name him. 

  January Polar Bears in time for the big storm tomorrow.  I will be bringing these little guys to work to encourage our poor service guys while plowing and shoveling another 20 inches of snow.

OMG!  I can’t even stand it.

 

I took one and put it on the calender for a little close up.  I think they look  like the photo.  What do you think?  Am I off to a good start with “The Year of the Cupcake” ? 

 

3 Responses to “2011 Calander = 12 months of Cupcakes ~January”

  1. Colleen Soares Says:

    I cant even stand it!! You are Martha Freaking Stewart!!!

  2. Kim (Dennis) Polley Says:

    I work with your mom and I don’t know if you remember me but we went to school together. Anyway your mom showed me thisa website and I think your cupcakes look awsome!!


Leave a Reply

