Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Chocolate Chunk Walnut Cookies January 19, 2011

Filed under: Food,HOME,Recipe — Sharon @ 5:23 pm

I have not made homemade cookies in a lllooooonnnnggg time.  A very long time.  I  think it is because I have a poor kitchen counter space for cooling or maybe it’s because if I make cookies with nowhere to bring them to than I will eat all of 3 dozen.  Whatever the reason I have not made them for some time.  I decided to bring some cookies to the football game (the game that should not be named: Voldemort style)   I think chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin are my 2 favs in the cookie family.    This batch was AWESOME~

I already had everything in the house except the Chocolate Chunks and Walnuts.  I took the recipe right off the back of the bag because I really don’t think anyone besides Toll House should tell me how to make a cookie.  

   See my lack of counter space?  There is barely any room for my wine!

 Rons secret for getting butter to room temp from the fridge faster is to cut it up into smaller chunks.    I have this hand held beater that does not work very well but it is alot better than working in all the ingredients by spoon and muscle power.

 I added all the dry goods and then whipped in the chunks and walnuts.  Yumm.  Ron enjoyed eating it straight out of the bowl.

 

 Martha would tell you that there are 2 things you need when making cookies 1. a med size scoop 2. a silt pad for non stick baking.  I think I have to agree with her.

 

The Directions from the back of the bag:

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups (11.5-oz. pkg.) NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks
  • 1 cup chopped nuts

Directions

PREHEAT oven to 375º F.

COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in chunks and nuts. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.

BAKE for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

PAN COOKIE VARIATION:
GREASE
15 x 10-inch  pan. Prepare dough as above. Spread into prepared pan. Bake for 9 – 13 minutes or until golden brown. Cool in pan on wire rack. Makes 4 dozen bars.


The scoop makes the perfect amount of cookie.   

Wow.  Ok, easy right.  I don’t have a Kitchen Aid mixer.  I made one batch of cookies in the last 10 years and now I want a $300 mixer.    Hahhaaa.  Ron would love one too.  Maybe one day when I get this blog sponsored there just gonna send me one.  Maybe?   Maybe not.
 

Leave a Reply

