Sharon's Shenanigans

My crafting, cooking, dieting, and workout blog!

Upper Charles Trail Bike & Run August 30, 2011

Filed under: HOME — Sharon @ 5:32 pm

Today I went to check out the Upper Charles Trail that I found on http://www.traillink.com/home.aspx

The Upper Charles Trail Milford section forms a completed 6.2 miles of a proposed 20-mile trail that will incorporate the communities of Milford, Ashland, Hopkinton, Sherborn and Holliston, linking the towns via an abandoned CSX rail bed. The Milford section is the first to open and extends from the town center north to the Hopkinton town line, east to the border of Holliston (which is making good progress on their section of trail) and south to the senior center. The trail is open to all non-motorized uses.

The Trailhead parking was easy to find and it located at a commuter parking lot so there is plenty of parking too.

I like biking with the Camelbak water pack because it also serves as a back pack to carry my keys, phone, ID and camera.  I put some Ice cubes in it and the water stayed cool the whole day.  I also tried a new product today by Gatorade.  The G3 series.

It kinda taste like  syrup but not too gross.  I only had a coffee and trailmix kashi bar for breakfast.   It was a great way to quickly fuel for the ride.

Helmet on and ready to ride!    I look like a fat head!  Hahaa.

They had the posted rules of the road and the trail was paved the whole way.  The only problem was the recent storm had made the trail a little scary with some branches and leaves along the way.  The ponds along the way were gorgeous.

The bike ride was about 4 miles out and 4 miles back for an 8mile ride.  I headed back to the car to drop off the bike and then was off for a run.

 I did 1.75 miles are it was HOT!  I was dyeing.  I realized I didn’t like to run with the camelbak on but it does serve its purpose.  I do however like to run with a visor on, keeps the sweat out of my eyes.  The C trail ends at a Dunkin Doughnuts and there are bathrooms there too…..thank goodness.  Perfect timing.  They also gave me a cup of ice for the last part of the Gatorade series the Recover.  This kind of taste like sweat…not sweet SWEAT mixed with bad breath…….gross.

 

One Response to “Upper Charles Trail Bike & Run”

  1. Katie Says:

    Your an Animal! Go You!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.